UK’s ‘travel corridor’ shrinks further as Qatar and several Caribbean islands removed

uks travel corridor shrinks further as qatar and several caribbean islands removed

Qatar, Madeira and the Caribbean island of Aruba are among the latest locations to join the UK government’s no-go list.

They lost their “travel corridor” status – which confers quarantine exemption on travellers to the UK – in a Thursday evening announcement from the Department for Transport (DfT).

In addition the Foreign Office warns against non-essential travel to each destination, “based on the current assessment of Covid-19 risks”.

The Azores, Chile and the Dutch Caribbean islands of Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba have also been stripped of their travel corridor status.

The regular weekly changes to the government’s quarantine list were somewhat overshadowed by the outright travel ban imposed on Portugal, Cape Verde and 13 Latin American countries on Thursday afternoon. All flights have been cancelled indefinitely.

Read more

The changes for Madeira and the Azores are part of the outright prohibition on travel from Portugal, which was due to the “strong links” it has with Brazil.

Chile, along with the rest of the South American continent, also has a sudden ban on travel from the UK,

INDY/GO Weekly NewsletterTIME TO TRAVEL!

INDY/GO Weekly NewsletterTIME TO TRAVEL!

Qatar’s capital, Doha, is a key Gulf hub for flight transfers, and has a big British expatriate community. The UAE was added to the UK’s no-go list on Monday after a significant number of coronavirus infections were imported from Dubai.

The measure for Qatar takes effect from 4am on Saturday, making it feasible for people there to travel to the UK on Friday.

Want to know more on click here go to tour news source.

From -